Profiles generically extend the UML through the use of stereotypes that are most often language-specific, provide a common graphical notation and vocabulary, and define a subset ot the UML metamodel (that could possibly be the entire UML metamodel). For example, variable and operation types change based on the profile (and therefore the stereotypes) used. There is a profile associated with each of the language plug-ins, and the profiles that automatically appear in the Profile Manager directly correspond to the set of enabled language-specific plug-ins and are enabled by default. Likewise, if a plug-in is disabled from the Plug-in Manager, the associated profile is automatically disabled and will not appear in the Profile Manager.
It may be advantageous at times to disable these profiles. The Profile Manager displays those profiles that are currently available and allows you to enable and disable them with a simple dropdown menu.
The profile is saved to the project as long as the profile was enabled in the Profile Manager when the project was saved. If the originating plug-in or the profile was disabled at the time of the save, no data related to that profile is saved. Say you have disabled the profile, and then decide to disable the plug-in. If you enable the plugin again, the profile will be automatically enabled. The status of the profile is not saved when the plug-in is disabled.